The transportation, storage, disposal, sale or use of toxic waste from fracking operations has been banned in many counties in New York State. These laws generally include prohibitions on the acceptance of fracking waste at landfills or water treatment plants, and the purchase or use of "ice treatments" and other road surface materials that use highly contaminated water from fracking operations.

Below is a list of counties that have enacted legislation banning fracking waste. Click on the names to see the legislation itself. If your county has not yet enacted laws to prohibit fracking waste, please contact us for more information and model policies.

Albany County 2013 (property/roads, waste water treatment facilities)
Albany County 2014 (landfills)
Cayuga County
Clinton County
Erie County
Nassau County
New York City
Oneida County
Onondoga County
Orange County 10 of 2013
Orange County 14 of 2013
Putnam County
Rockland County
Schoharie County
Suffolk County
Tompkins County
Ulster County
Westchester County